Football and Finally Seeing the Beautiful Game

By Josh Shevlin

Hello everyone!
I wanted to talk about my experiences with football this semester and how it will eventually tie into the final theme of my blogs. I think that attending a game itself is one of the best things one can do in their time anywhere in the world, whether it be a Superligaen, Premier League, or MLS match. Yet, I had a unique opportunity in March to see a Danish national team friendly against Switzerland that I couldn’t pass the offer on. Tickets were relatively cheap at around 400 DKK and I sat in the A12 section of the Parken, which is the upper tier near one of the larger walls that encompasses the large stadium. The excitement in the air was palpable, with fans from both teams creating a vibrant atmosphere. It was a close match, and the energy of the crowd heightened the overall experience. The cheers, chants, and camaraderie among the supporters added an incredible dimension to the event. The sight of the players demonstrating their skills on the field was awe-inspiring, and the game kept everyone on the edge of their seats. Moreover, witnessing the national anthems being played and sung by the fans was a moving experience. It truly felt like being part of something larger than myself. This memorable event will undoubtedly influence the upcoming themes of my blog, as it was a culmination of sportsmanship, passion, and unity that transcends boundaries. I am looking forward to sharing more about this unforgettable occasion and its impact on my perspective.

The atmosphere at the Parken is one so chaotic yet so beautiful. The “DAN-MARK” chants in unison reminded me a lot of the U-S-A chants you’d hear at a U.S. National Team match, although admitingly it was the only one I could actually understand. The Den Rode supporters group at the west side of the stadium were the most vocal supporters in the entire stadium, although everyone joined in on the chants at certain points.

The stadium was a wave of red and white, with people of all ages donning the Danneborg flag and the quinnestial Denmark kit manufactured by Hummel. People also wore some of the most silly and fun hats I’ve seen, with the Danneborg hat being my favorite. The scarfs were all also great and I was able to purchase one with the DBU logo on it which is the Danish football confederation. I myself am the prouder owner of not just one, but two of these kits! One of them has Rasmus Hojlund’s number 9 on the back, which for those of you who don’t follow football means that he is their striker and arguably most important player. You could make out the players numbers from where I was sitting but you could barely actually see the faces or put the numbers to the name. That night, Denmark was wearing their famous red uniforms on white pants and Switzerland was wearing white on red. Kind of funny how both of them were wearing the same colors.

The reason I haven’t talked as much about the actual match was the fact that it ended in a 0-0 draw! I swear you would’ve thought this was 2022 Chelsea with the number of missed shots on target each squad had. Famous Danish midfielder and well-known Manchester United star Chirstian Eriksen almost put on through the goalkeeper on a free kick, yet Swiss GK Yvon Mgono made an amazing save. It was really amazing seeing players I grew up watching, including Emile Hojbjerg, Yann Sommer, Granit Xhaka, Christian Eriksen, and Andreas Christensen. Seeing the formations happen from above and feel the energy of the players was particularly great, it felt like you were right on top of them. In the past, I always felt like with the matches I attended I always felt far away, whereas at the Parken I felt right on top of all of the action

Overall, I had a lot of fun seeing the Parken, even if the match was a draw. Getting out of the Parken was quite a challenge within itself, with the Metro being extremely packed. One of my friends told me that you should always try to avoid taking public transportation around football matches regardless of where you are, and now I believe them!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started